Connect with us


Rohit Sharma Surpasses MS Dhoni to register most T20I as captain in a calendar year



Rohit Sharma Surpasses MS Dhoni to register most T20I as captain in a calendar year

Rohit Sharma Surpasses MS Dhoni to register the most T20I as captain in a calendar year: Rohit Sharma surpassed former Indian captain, MS Dhoni, to register the most number of wins in a calendar year after winning the first T20I against South Africa.

In 2016, Former Indian Skipper MS Dhoni had the milestone of 15 matches win in the T20I.

Winning the first of the three T20Is, India took a 1-0 lead over South Africa. India hosted Australia for three T20Is before inviting South Africa for the bilateral series, where the Men in Blue broke Pakistan’s record by registering the most wins in a calendar year.

Read More | T20 World Cup 2022: Team India’s New Jersey For T20 World Cup 2022

India beat Australia in the third T20I to win the series 2-1, and India surpassed Pakistan to mark their 21st T20I win in the calendar year. The streak was extended to 22 after the victory over South Africa.

Speaking of how the first T20I between India and South Africa turned out, the match’s tempo was set in the first innings by young pacer Arshdeep Singh, who startled the South African dugout by taking three wickets in the first over of his spell, which was the game’s second over, before Deepak Chahar gave India a flying start by dismissing skipper Temba Bavuma in the very first over for a duck.

Read More | Duleep Trophy: West Zone Win Duleep Trophy after beating South Zone by 294 Runs

Arshdeep Singh dismissed opener Quinton de Kock on the second ball of the over as he walked off scoring just a run. While Rilee Rossouw and David Miller were gone for golden ducks on the fifth and sixth ball respectively. The young speedster led India’s pace attack and picked up three big wickets in his very first over of the game.

Chahar returned for his second over and added to India’s ongoing celebrations by picking up South African youngster Tristan Stubbs in the third over of the game as the visitors were reduced to 9/5 in just 2.3 overs of the first innings. Wayne Parnell and Aiden Markram attempted to fight back, but their efforts were short-lived.

Read More | India vs Pakistan Test: ECB Offers to Host Test Series

Harshal Patel trapped Markram in the eighth over and made the umpire overturn his original decision of not-out after a successful DRS, and Axar Patel soon sent Parnell back to the pavilion. Keshav Maharaj’s courageous knock of 41 off 35 in the closing stages helped South Africa reach 106/8.

(With Input From Crictracker)

Read More | Test Cricket: Mark Wood says If They Want Me, I’ll be Ready

Recent Posts

Related Stories