Connect with us


New Zealand announces 15-man Squad for 1st Test Against South Africa



New Zealand announces 15-man Squad for 1st Test Against South Africa

New Zealand cricket team will take on South Africa in two-match Test series that will be happening on 17th Feb 2022.

The New Zealand team has announced a 15-member squad for the 1st Test against South Africa.

And, rookies Blair Tickner and Cam Fletcher have been included in the squad for the two-match rubber.

Kane Williamson has still not recovered from his elbow issue, and as a result, Tom Latham will continue to lead the Kiwis in Williamson’s absence.

Read More | How Brendon Taylor Got into a fix, banned for three and a half years

Also, experienced pacer Trent Boult will not take part in the 1st Test match as he will be with his family for the birth of his child. The head coach of the New Zealand side, Gary Stead stated that Covid-19 and a few injuries have forced the Black Caps to adopt a flexible approach. Stead also congratulated Fletcher and Tickner for finding a place in the squad.

“Injuries and COVID have forced us to be flexible and I’m really excited with the squad picked. I’d like to congratulate Cam and Blair on making the squad and also acknowledge Hamish and Colin for fighting their way back into the Test set-up,” said Stead as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Read More | Australia announce full-strength Test Squad for Pakistan Tour

Gary Stead also added that Cam Fletcher has produced excellent performances for the Canterbury outfit in every format of the game. The New Zealand head coach concluded by stating that it will be a great opportunity for Fletcher to come into the New Zealand setup.

“Cam has been excellent across the three formats for Canterbury over the past couple of seasons, producing consistent and often match-winning performances for his team. This will be a great opportunity for him to come into the Black Caps environment and soak up the experience as much as he can,” concluded Stead.

Read More | Shardul Thakur Opens up on Virat Kohli Quitting Captaincy- ‘Emotional Moment for Everyone’

New Zealand 15-man Squad for 1st Test:

Tom Latham (C), Tom Blundell (WK), Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Cam Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young.


Priyanka Joshi is a Former Software Engineer at and blogger. She has good experience especially in cricket this is why she loves to write Cricket news-related articles.

Recent Posts

Related Stories