Connect with us


Bangladesh include uncapped pace trio for Sri Lanka Tests



Bangladesh include uncapped pace trio for Sri Lanka Tests

Bangladesh has announced a 21-member preliminary squad for the Sri Lankan Test Tour, beginning 21 April with the return of Shuvagata Hom to the side.

The uncapped pace trio of Shoriful Islam, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, and Shohidul Islam have received their maiden call-ups for after an impressive domestic season.

Shuvagata Hom, who makes a comeback, last played international Test cricket in 2016 against England at home before being dropped.

He has been recalled for his all-round abilities after showcasing consistency at the domestic level.

Excluded from the squad are Mustafizur Rahman, Soumya Sarkar and Hasan Mahmud, who were a part of the two-match Test series against West Indies. Meanwhile, Shakib Al Hasan has opted to play in the Indian Premier League.

Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin has said that Bangladesh will announce the final squad for the series after an inter-squad warm-up game.

“We have decided to take the preliminary squad to Sri Lanka as it would help our preparation and also give exposure to a number of players who are in our thinking for the longer version going forward.”

“Shoriful, Mukidul, and Shohidul have been in our HP setup and have impressed in whichever version they have played in. Mukidul and Shohidul in particular, have caught the eye in domestic first-class this season and are future Test prospects. They all have age on their side and are talented.”

“Shuvagata is coming back after a while but he has been a consistent performer in first-class cricket. We have considered him as a batting all-rounder but his off-break is pretty handy also and gives us an option in the spin department.”

The two-Test series begins on 21 April, with the Bangladesh squad arriving in Sri Lanka on 12 April. The Inter-squad warm-up match will be played between 17-18 April to finalize the squad.

Read More | IPL 2021 SRH vs KKR 3rd Match Preview: Fantasy Playing Tips, Probable XIs, Stats

Squad: Mominul Haque, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom, Shohidul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.

Source: Icc-cricket

Recent Posts

Related Stories