Connect with us


Women IPL to have 5 teams, 20 league Fixtures, 2 Venues



Women IPL to have 5 teams, 20 league Fixtures, 2 Venues

Women IPL to have 5 teams, 20 league Fixtures, 2 Venues: Women’s IPL has come thorugh and the inaugural edtition is set to be played next year after Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

As per reprots, BCCI is planning to have 5 teams and each team might will face two times in the league stage. And the top quaifying for the final directly.

There will be eliminator match for second and thrd ranked team to qualify for the finals.

Read More | SHOCKING!! Indian Pacer Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of T20 World Cup Due to Injury

Each team will have the luxury to field five overseas players in the playing Xi with four of them coming from the ICC full member nations and onve from the aossiate nation.

This is an excellent gesture to provide exposure to the associate nation players. The men’s IPL usually has had four overseas players in the playing XI with no restrictions on the full member nations or associates.

Read More | South African Provincial T20 Cup Full Schedule, Squads, Teams, Date & Time

Women IPL 5 teams

Coming to the five teams, BCCI is still pondering over having two options with Zone wise – North (Dharamsala/Jammu), South (Kochi/Vizag), Central (Indore/Nagpur/Raipur), East (Ranchi/Cuttack), North East (Guwahati) and West (Pune/Rajkot) – with matches held at non-IPL venues) and existing city-wise like with Men’s IPL (Ahmedabad, Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Kolkata – with matches held at IPL venues) according to Cricbuzz reports.

Read More | Duleep Trophy: West Zone Win Duleep Trophy after beating South Zone by 294 Runs

The BCCI office bearers are yet to conclude on the teams and the final topic of discussion has been on the venues for the tournament. While the men’s IPL 2023 is set to resume with the home and away games. The same could not be expected in Women’s IPL.

The first half of the tournament is likely to take place in one venue. And the second half will be shifted to another venue completely.

Read More | India vs Pakistan Test: ECB Offers to Host Test Series

The 2023 season could be played in two of the five team’s venues while the 2024 season could be played in two of the remaining venues. The remaining one venue and one of the 2023 season venues will host the 2025 season. And this is expected to be the blueprint for the format going forward.

(With input from Crictracker)

I love to write articles on Technologies, Smartphones, Gaming stories at I did my B. Sc. in Maths from the M.B.G.P.G.College Haldwani, U.K. and I have been working as a content writer ever since.

Recent Posts

Related Stories